Safe Golf Club Competition 2022

Applications are now open for the 2022 Safe Golf Club Competition. Please enter via the entry form attached.

Safe Golf Club Competition 2021


SafeGolf Clubs from Gloucestershire were invited to take part in the annual SafeGolf Club Competition to celebrate their accreditations.

The competition first started in 2012 and named Golfmark Club as was the accreditation at the time.  This has since evolved into SafeGolf Club.

Minchinhampton Old Course was the host venue for 2021 (winners from 2019) and 17 Teams took part with members from each section of the club, from Seniors, Mens, Ladies and Juniors.

The format, best 2/4 was a popular choice with Nearest the Pins on the 8th and 16th holes.

Fortunately for the players the weather had cooled a bit with a slight breeze and of course the occasional cow and pony to join in the fun!

Our thanks go to the staff at Minchinhampton Old Course for all their help on the day and the lovely sandwiches and chips which followed each round.


1st Place – Brickhampton Court Team – Chris Dooley, Lizzie Claridge, Chris Douglas, Molly Douglas (89pts)

2nd Place – The Kendleshire Team – Wayne Graham, Jenny Garland, Andy Collier, Ethan Holway (84pts on a countback from Thornbury)

Nearest the Pins:

8th Hole – Dave Simms – Woodlands

16th Hole – Sean Mustoe – Sherdons

Eagles – Jenny Burton, Naunton Downs (17th) and Simon Weeks, Thornbury (17th)

2’s –

10th Hole – Chris Dooley, Brickhampton Court – Chris Goodliff, Westonbiry – Pat Thomas, Woodspring – Carol Weeks, Thornbury and Simon Weeks, Thornbury

14th Hole – Nigel Knee, Lilley Brook